Craft Update #1: College Blanket and Vacation Projects

In case you didn’t know, I knit. I also crochet and spin, among other things. So I thought it would be fun to update you on some things I’m making!

When I got to school, I barely had any yarn with me, and once I finished the socks I was working on, I had nothing to do. So I did what I normally do when I run out of projects, which is buy a bunch of Red Heart Super Saver and start making a blanket.

Normally I just make granny squares, but this time I thought I’d do something different. I bought white, three shades of blue, and black. With the white and the blues, I made piles and piles of double crochet (US terms here) squares, 14 stitches and 8 rows each. Then I went around all of those with the black, 14 stitches per side plus a corner of 2 dc, ch 2, 2 dc.

When my roommate left for break, I put all the squares out on the floor and decided on this arrangement:

2014-12-09 13.44.47

Now all I have left is to sew them all together! Yay. 😛

I considered crocheting them together, but I decided I didn’t want the ridge that crocheting creates, so sewing it is.

When I got home for break, I realized I had the same problem: I didn’t have any projects going. On the way out the door to a play, I grabbed some size 7 circulars and a slightly nicer Red Heart yarn (I don’t have very much money, okay) and cast on for a cowl. I finished in about a week.

2014-12-26 16.34.38 2014-12-26 16.35.04

Each stitch represents a different day. I thought it would be fun to do sort of a chronological stitch sampler. I have garter, seed stitch, 3-stitch basketweave, and 5-stitch basketweave in there.

2014-12-26 16.32.59

I haven’t even woven in the ends, but I’ve been wearing it ever since it got out of the washing machine (the acrylic version of blocking). It’s SO soft!

2014-12-26 16.35.44

Once I finished that, there was again nothing to do, which is why I now have this enormous granny square blanket-in-progress sitting around. It’s already getting too big to carry with me when I go places, which probably means I’ll do a border of smaller granny squares. I’ve done that before with a blanket I made for myself.

2014-12-26 16.51.47

I think this one is going to be for my grandma’s 80th birthday. I make blankets for family members when they turn 80. It just sort of started happening.

2 thoughts on “Craft Update #1: College Blanket and Vacation Projects

Leave a Reply

